12 Random Days of Christmas – Day 7

If you missed day 6, click here.

Day 7 – Drinks

No Christmas season would be complete without the booze!  Non alcoholic beverages will also be there.  I like to drink white wine with turkey dinner and of course beer can be drank any time.  Sometimes a company will put out a holiday beer which I will likely try and also very likely hate, but I still try it nonetheless.   Plus I always finish my beer.  I don’t understand how someone can hate a beer so much that they don’t even finish it.  To me beer, pizza, sex and massages are one in the same – no matter how bad it is, you always finish it!  Because how bad can drinking beer, eating pizza, having sex and getting a massage REALLY be?  Am I right?!

Eggnog is also a big favourite in our house.  My father used to be a dairy engineer, so he takes his eggnogging VERY seriously.  Has to have the correct fat spread on the tongue, good color and nutmeg is a MUST!  I on the other hand prefer my eggnog to be lighter, via either milk or rum.  Depends on what time of day and who I’m with.

One year we had a Christmas party and I devised a few different tasty cocktails to serve. By devise I mean I googled holiday drinks and picked one with ingredients that weren’t too freaky. 

drinks

I took cute Christmas cards from previous years and used them to write out my cocktail recipes so I didn't have to constantly check online.

I took cute Christmas cards from previous years and used them to write out my cocktail recipes so I didn’t have to constantly check online.

drinks3

The Spicy Gingerman was fun, and most definitely was very spicy.  I loved the cinnamon stick garnish.  The Turtle Dove one was kind of a flop but the Eggnog martini was pretty tasty, at least my Dad really liked it – no surprises there.  I also made a candy cane martini but I seem to have lost the recipe.  However, if I remember correctly it went a little something like this:

Candy Cane Martini

  • Rim glass with crushed candy cane
  • a shot of vanilla vodka
  • a shot of regular vodka
  • a shot of peppermint schnapps
  • candy cane garnish

This cocktail was WAY too easy to drink and got me very drunk!

We also cannot forget my own recipe, Nicole’s Spicy Apple Sangria.  I’m thinking of getting creative with this one, maybe adding some orange for more dimension?  I’m not sure yet, but I’ll let you know if I do!

And of course you can always drink water.  So… there’s that.

About nicolerandom

I'm a Canadian lady, wife and mom that enjoys the finer things in life. These finer things often include baking, crafting, cooking, reading, beautifying and trying my hardest to live a healthy lifestyle. When I'm not taking part in the aforementioned activities, I am busy loving my family, the environment, and attempting to make my life as efficient as possible.

Posted on December 18, 2014, in Menu Monday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment